Petrov handed 5-place grid penalty for India

Petrov launches into Schumacher, taking both cars out

Petrov launches into Schumacher, taking both cars out

Vitaly Petrov will be docked 5 places on the grid for the Indian Grand Prix later this month, after today’s collision with Michael Schumacher.

Petrov was racing Fernando Alonso for position entering Turn 3, when both cars out-braked themselves and slid off the track. Alonso took to the run-off area, while Petrov launched into an innocent Schumacher, taking both cars out of the race.

Vitaly accepted the blame soon after the race:

"It was not his fault, it was absolutely my fault – once my wheels were locked 
there was nothing I could do about it. But that’s racing and tomorrow is another 
day.

I tried to defend my position from Fernando but I was in the braking zone on the 
dirty side of the track which meant I locked my wheels and hit Michael.

I was focused on my battle with Fernando as there was potential for me to be 
ahead of him. We both braked too late as he missed the corner too."
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

