Daily Archives: August 30, 2010

Belgian Grand Prix stats and facts

The 2010 Belgian Grand Prix saw Rubens Barrichello’s 300th Grand Prix start, but unfortunately he didn’t even make it to the second lap. Here are the stats and facts from the Belgian Grand Prix:

  • McLaren’s victory means that the McLaren-Ferrari domination of Spa continues. The last time a team other than these two won here was Jordan in 1998.
  • This was Jarno Trulli’s 231st race entry, as many as Giancarlo Fisichella.
  • This was Lewis Hamilton’s 14th Grand Prix victory, as many as Jack Brabham, Graham Hill and Emerson Fittipaldi.
  • However, it was only the second time that he has won a race from start to finish. The last time he did so was back in 2007 in Hungary.
  • It was the 6th fastest lap of Hamilton’s career, as many as Sebastian Vettel, Emerson Fittipaldi, Phil Hill, Mike Hawthorn and many others.
  • Mark Webber’s 6th pole position puts him level with Phil Hill, Emerson Fittipaldi, Ralf Schumacher, Alan Jones, Carlos Reutemann and Jean-Pierre Jabouille.
  • This was the 12th time in 13 races that Red Bull have taken a pole position, but the 6th time this season that they have lost a race win from pole.
  • Also, this was the first time this year that a Red Bull car was classified outside of the points.
  • This was the first time in 2010 that a Ferrari retired from the race. Having said that, the Ferraris still lead the “laps completed” section, with Massa in the lead with 780 laps, and Alonso second with 772. No other driver has come close to this.
  • Jaime Alguersuari got his career best 11th place position qualification, while Michael Schumacher’s 21st place grid spot was the second-worst in his career.
  • Lewis Hamilton has turned every single one of his front-row starts this year to victories.
  • Robert Kubica’s 3rd podium finishes this year means he has as many as Nico Rosberg and Felipe Massa.
  • Bruno Senna’s 7th retirement of the season means he is level at the top with Pedro de la Rosa. Having said that, Hispania’s 18th and 19th position grid spots were the best of the season.