Alonso continues to lead through Belgian FP2

Fernando Alonso topped the second practice session for the Belgian Grand Prix today, as the rapidly drying track allowed some fast laps at the end. He was only one tenth ahead of Adrian Sutil, who in turn was just ahead of Lewis Hamilton.

The session started with the usual Spa conditions, with the track still requiring extreme wet tyres. However, soon enough the sun started to appear, and intermidiates were swiftly attached to the cars. Later on, Jaime Alguersuari was the first to try slick tyres, and his first lap time was 3 seconds faster than his previous ones on the inters.

However, as the track was still slippy, it was sure to catch out a few drivers. Vitantonio Liuzzi spun at Rivage, while Timo Glock crashed after only 3 laps, at the next corner.

Adrian Sutil was leading for most of the session, before a very strange red flag emerged. Charlie Whiting was dispatched in the course car, to ensure that no fans were standing in a dangerous zone. It is believed that a group of kids climbed over a debris barrier at Rivage (Turn 8). This was a disaster for some drivers, as it ruined 10 of the 15 dry minutes of the session that they had.

When the session restarted, all the cars were queued up to take one last set of flying laps. The two Ferraris went out together, but Alonso pulled away from Massa by 0.6 seconds in the middle sector. This allowed Fernando to take the fastest lap of the session, a 1.49.032, to beat Adrian Sutil.

Robert Kubica was 4th, Felipe Massa 5th, and Sebastian Vettel 6th. Rubens Barrichello was again 9th, and Vitantonio Liuzzi struggled again down in 16th. The slowest of the non-new teams was actually Mark Webber, who was 2.6 seconds off the fastest time. The Lotuses were back on form, with Kovalainen and Trulli fastest of the new teams.

Lucas di Grassi was 21st, Senna 22nd, while Sakon Yamamoto was only 0.3 seconds behind his team-mate in 23rd.

Times from FP2:

Pos. Driver Car Best lap Gap Laps
1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1′49.032 25
2 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1′49.157 0.125 17
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1′49.248 0.216 14
4 Robert Kubica Renault 1′49.282 0.250 20
5 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1′49.588 0.556 23
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1′49.689 0.657 19
7 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1′49.755 0.723 20
8 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1′50.081 1.049 27
9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1′50.128 1.096 22
10 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1′50.200 1.168 24
11 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1′50.251 1.219 24
12 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1′50.341 1.309 23
13 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1′50.382 1.350 21
14 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1′50.682 1.650 25
15 Nico Hülkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1′50.831 1.799 20
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1′51.520 2.488 17
17 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1′51.523 2.491 25
18 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1′51.636 2.604 19
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1′53.480 4.448 15
20 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1′53.639 4.607 21
21 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1′54.325 5.293 17
22 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1′55.751 6.719 24
23 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 1′56.039 7.007 21
24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 2′03.179 14.147 3

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: