Daily Archives: August 20, 2010

Driver salary rates revealed, Alonso leads by millions

Today, Yahoo Sports revealed the earning salaries for the entire F1 grid, and unsurprisingly Fernando Alonso was miles ahead of anyone else, earning £24.6m (€30m), nearly twice as much as second-placed man Lewis Hamilton. Kimi Raikkonen is still third, as his enormous pay-off to leave Ferrari, combined with his contract, puts him well above all of the other drivers.

Here is the list, and although it can’t be 100% accurate, it seems to be a trustable report:

1. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) £24.6m
2. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) £13.1m
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) £13.1m
4. Felipe Massa (Ferrari) £11.5m
5. Jenson Button (McLaren) £7.4m
6. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes GP) £6.6m
7. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP) £6.6m
8. Robert Kubica (Renault) £6.2m
9. Rubens Barrichello (Williams) £4.5m
10. Mark Webber (Red Bull) £3.4m
11. Jarno Trulli (Lotus) £2.5m
12. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) £1.6m
13. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus) £1.6m
14. Timo Glock (Virgin) £820,000
15. Nico Hülkenberg (Williams) £573,000
16. Pedro de la Rosa (Sauber) £410,000
17. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber) £410,000
18. Vitaly Petrov (Renault) £328,000
19. Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso) £328,000
20. Sébastien Buemi (Toro Rosso) £328,000
21. Adrian Sutil (Force India) £164,000
22. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Force India) £164,000
23. Lucas Di Grassi (Virgin) £164,000
24. Bruno Senna (Hispania) £164,000
25. Karun Chandhok (Hispania) Nil
26. Sakon Yamamoto (Hispania) Nil (good)

1. Ferrari £49.1m
2. McLaren £20.5m
3. Mercedes GP £13.1m
4. Renault £6.5m
5. Red Bull £5.1m
6. Williams £5.1m
7. Lotus £4.1m
8. Virgin £983,000
9. Sauber £819,000
10. Toro Rosso £655,000
11. Force India £328,000
12. Hispania £123,000

You may well have noticed that the Red Bull drivers are earning fractions of the other top drivers. While their initial payment is small, it is understood that they earn massive bonuses from race wins.

Another odd note is that Adrian Sutil earns practically nothing, only £164,000, and yet his direly underperforming team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi still gets the same as him. Speaking of underperforming, Sakon Yamamoto isn’t getting a single cent, and good riddance. I’m sure his sponsors keep him afloat, as well as the team. Karun Chandhok isn’t earning anything either, and I can’t help but feel that this is completely unfair, as he has no sponsors, and can actually keep up with the rest of the grid.

It doesn’t take a genius to realise that McLaren are getting the best deal on the grid, with a set of highly-rated drivers, and at only half of the cost of Ferrari’s trio. Don’t take Raikkonen out of this equation, as Ferrari were quite keen to pay him out of the way, so sponsor-surrounded Alonso could get into the team.


Force India fined €1m in Aerolab dispute

The Queen’s Bench Division in the High Court of Justice in London have fined Force India €1m, and damages and interest at 8%, to the Aerolab company, who are currently in dispute with the team over unpaid fees, and the wind tunnel model that Aerolab made for Lotus.

Force India have been forced to pay €1m to Aerolab in their ongoing dispute

Force India have been forced to pay €1m to Aerolab in their ongoing dispute

This is the first result of the Aerolab-Force India dispute, although there is more to come, as Jean Claude Migeot, director of Aerolab, will be charged in Bologna regarding a criminal complaint there. Also, it is unclear whether Lotus will come back into the equation, as their wind tunnel model still is regarded to have been designed questionably by Aerolab, as it may have included Force India intellectual data.

Although there is little more information on this battle, it is believed that the Italian Grand Prix weekend may result in more exchanges of action, as Force India’s assets will be under Italian jurisdiction.

Yamamoto remains in Chandhok’s seat for Belgium

Sakon Yamamoto will continue to replace Karun Chandhok at Spa

Sakon Yamamoto will continue to replace Karun Chandhok at Spa

It has emerged today that Sakon Yamamoto will continue to take Karun Chandhok’s seat at the Hispania team for the Belgium Grand Prix, as the team tries to stay afloat on the Japanese driver’s sponsors. While there was initial hope that Karun could return after the summer break, today’s statement by the team has quashed those rumours.

Since Silverstone, Yamamoto has been occupying the race seats of Chandhok and once Senna. With this news, it is clear that Yamamoto will probably be racing at the very back for most of the rest of this season.

While I’m on about Yamamoto, I found an interesting stat on him: He has never scored a pole position in his entire motorsport career. Also, the last time he won a race was back in 2005, in the Super GT (Japanese Touring Car) championship, and he has only won one other race in his life.