10 drivers get penalties, while Alonso and Rosberg gain points

10 different drivers have received time penalties after the European Grand Prix, 9 of these 5-second penalties. These came during Lap 10 and 11, when these drivers were judged to have been speeding while they caught up to the safety car.

All 9 of these drivers got 5-second penalties: Jenson Button, Rubens Barrichello, Nico Hulkenberg, Vitaly Petrov, Robert Kubica, Sebastien Buemi, Pedro de la Rosa, Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Liuzzi. The two drivers who lose out here are Buemi and De la Rosa, as Sebastien drops from 8th to 9th, while Pedro de la Rosa falls out of the points entirely.

The 10th penalty was a 20-second penalty, handed to Timo Glock for not respecting blue flags, meaning he ignored 3 blue flags in a row.

This promotes Fernando Alonso to 8th place, and Nico Rosberg into 10th. Here is the revised finishing order:

1) Sebastian Vettel
2) Lewis Hamilton
3) Jenson Button
4) Rubens Barrichello
5) Robert Kubica
6) Adrian Sutil
7) Kamui Kobayashi
8 ) Fernando Alonso
9) Sebastien Buemi
10) Nico Rosberg
11) Felipe Massa
12) Pedro de la Rosa
13) Jaime Alguersuari
14) Vitaly Petrov
15) Michael Schumacher
16) Vitantonio Liuzzi
17) Lucas di Grassi
18) Timo Glock
19) Karun Chandhok
20) Bruno Senna
21) Jarno Trulli

The standings have been updated accordingly, you can view them here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: