Daily Archives: May 28, 2010

Button leads Turkish Friday Practice 2

Jenson Button in Turkish Friday Practice 2

Jenson Button in Turkish Friday Practice 2

Jenson Button led the way in the second Friday practice session of the Turkish Grand Prix weekend. Behind him were the two Red Bulls of Webber and Vettel, before reliability got in the way of both cars again.

Before the session began, Sebastian Vettel had a water pipe change, although he suffered a loss of water pressure near the end of FP2, and drove slowly back to the pits. Meanwhile, Mark Webber slowed as he accelerated away from Turn 2, and smoke appeared from his engine. He rolled to a halt soon after. Despite this, Webber and Vettel were 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Lewis Hamilton was 4th, and almost 4 tenths slower than Button. Fernando Alonso was behind Hamilton, followed by the two Mercedes drivers of Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher. Again, the two Renault drivers of Kubica and Petrov were close, getting 8th and 9th. Felipe Massa rounded off the top 10.

Adrian Sutil once again trounced his team-mate by an entire second to take 11th place. Nico Hulkenberg put in a good performance to get 12th, and the same goes for Kamui Kobayashi who was 13th. Behind them were Pedro de la Rosa, Sebastien Buemi, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Rubens Barrichello, with Jaime Alguersuari again the slowest of the midfield.

While Heikki Kovalainen was again considerably the fastest of the new teams, in 19th, his team-mate Trulli was not beside him. Instead, Lucas di Grassi split the two Lotus cars t0 finish 20th, with Jarno 21st. Timo Glock was 22nd, followed by the HRTs of Senna and Chandhok.

Track temperatures reached up to 50 degrees during this session. Many drivers were caught out by Turn 8, such as Felipe Massa, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Kamui Kobayashi, Vitaly Petrov and Karun Chandhok. Massa’s spin ruined one of his sets of tyres, which affected his pace in this session.

Times from Friday Practice 2:

Driver Team Best Lap Gap # of laps
1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1.28.280 30
2 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1.28.378 0.098 24
3 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1.28.590 0.31 27
4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1.28.672 0.392 32
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1.28.725 0.445 30
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1.28.914 0.634 22
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1.28.974 0.694 22
8 Robert Kubica Renault 1.29.225 0.945 34
9 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1.29.501 1.221 36
10 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1.29.620 1.34 26
11 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1.29.629 1.349 16
12 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1.29.987 1.707 17
13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1.30.053 1.773 34
14 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1.30.176 1.896 34
15 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1.30.386 2.106 32
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1.30.627 2.347 28
17 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1.30.766 2.486 32
18 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1.30.933 2.653 37
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1.31.610 3.33 37
20 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1.33.013 4.733 28
21 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1.33.081 4.801 11
22 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1.33.312 5.032 29
23 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1.33.420 5.14 35
24 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1.33.740 5.46 25

Hamilton leads McLaren 1-2 in Turkish Friday Practice 1

Lewis Hamilton in Turkish Friday Practice 1

Lewis Hamilton in Turkish Friday Practice 1

Lewis Hamilton was in front of Jenson Button for FP1 in Turkey today, as he was an entire second faster than any of his opposition. Also, Red Bull and Force India tested out their interpretations of the F-duct system.

Behind the McLaren 1-2, the Mercedes drivers of Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg were 3rd and 4th. Sebastian Vettel was 5th for Red Bull, and the two Renaults of Robert Kubica and Vitaly Petrov were 6th and 7th. Petrov was only 0.004 seconds slower than Kubica, a great performance for a rookie.

Mark Webber was 8th, and was 1.444 seconds slower than the leader. Fernando Alonso and Adrian Sutil topped off the top 10. Kamui Kobayashi was 11th, and Vitantonio Liuzzi was 12th, 0.4 seconds slower than team-mate Sutil. Felipe Massa was 13th, Sebastien Buemi was 14th, and Pedro de la Rosa was 15th. The two Williams cars of Hulkenberg and Barrichello were 16th and 17th, with Jaime Alguersuari slowest of the midfield.

As normal, Lotus were the best of the new teams, and again closed the gap considerably to the rest of the grid, with a new rear wing this weekend. Heikki Kovalainen led Jarno Trulli, while Karun Chandhok was behind them in 21st. Lucas di Grassi and Timo Glock were 22nd and 23rd. Instead of Bruno Senna, the HRT team elected to run Sakon Yamamoto, who was signed as the team’s reserve driver a few weeks ago. He was dissapointingly slow though, as he was 24th, and half a second behind Glock.

While Sebastian Vettel ran the F-duct on his car, Mark Webber stayed with the original version of the car. Adrian Sutil crashed his Force India with only 3 minutes to go in this session, as a driver error caused the car to understeer off at Turn 8 and slam into the barriers, removing the front wing, nosecone and both front wheels in the process.

Karun Chandhok also suffered problems, as his HRT car had an electrical problem, and was forced to crawl back to the pits. He was able to rejoin with 15 minutes left in the session though.

Times from Friday Practice 1:

Driver Team Best Lap Gap # of laps
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1.28.653 20
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1.29.615 0.962 21
3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1.29.750 1.097 24
4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1.29.855 1.202 25
5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1.29.867 1.214 30
6 Robert Kubica Renault 1.30.061 1.408 23
7 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1.30.065 1.412 24
8 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1.30.097 1.444 26
9 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1.30.294 1.641 20
10 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1.30.501 1.848 17
11 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1.30.615 1.962 20
12 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1.30.853 2.2 21
13 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1.30.867 2.214 22
14 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1.31.011 2.358 24
15 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1.31.238 2.585 18
16 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1.31.355 2.702 23
17 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1.31.464 2.811 19
18 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1.31.735 3.082 27
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1.32.161 3.508 24
20 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1.32.990 4.337 23
21 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1.34.876 6.223 13
22 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1.35.137 6.484 21
23 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1.35.583 6.93 15
24 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 1.36.137 7.484 26