McLaren lead wet Friday Practice 2

Lewis Hamilton during Friday Practice 2

Lewis Hamilton during Friday Practice 2

The McLaren duo of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button headed the pack in Friday Practice 2 today, as showers at the start of the session disrupted the runnings.

Both of these drivers set their fastest laps in between the two showers which struck at the start of the session. The track dried out mostly by the end of the session, and slicks were being used by the end. This included Mark Webber, who took third place near the end on hard tyres. Behind him, Michael Schumacher was fourth, also taking on slicks at the end.

Paul di Resta did not feature in this session, as Adrian Sutil retook the car. He finished the session seventh, one-thousandth of a second behind his team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi.

The Ferraris were caught out by the changing conditions, and Feranando Alonso and Felipe Massa took 15th and 17th places respectively. Alonso ended up 3.2 seconds behind Hamilton, with Massa a further half-second back.

HRT struggled hugely in this session. Bruno Senna’s car was unable to run at all, while Karun Chandhok stopped at the end of pit exit on his first outing, meaning neither set a lap time, although Chandhok has been credited with 1 lap in the official timing. Neither of the cars’ problems has been accounted for yet.

Lucas di Grassi did little better for Virgin. He got 2 installation laps in, but no fast lap time, so he ended up 22nd.

Pictures will be added in a separate article later.

Times from Friday Practice 2:

Driver Team Time Difference # of laps
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1.25.801 13
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1.26.076 0.275 16
3 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1.26.248 0.447 22
4 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1.26.511 0.710 16
5 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1.26.732 0.931 26
6 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1.26.832 1.031 29
7 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1.26.834 1.033 22
8 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1.26.835 1.034 17
9 Rubens Barichello Williams-Cosworth 1.26.904 1.103 25
10 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1.26.956 1.155 22
11 Robert Kubica Renault 1.27.108 1.307 28
12 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1.27.108 1.307 25
13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1.27.455 1.654 23
14 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1.27.545 1.744 25
15 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1.29.025 3.224 20
16 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1.29.134 3.333 19
17 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1.29.591 3.790 21
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1.29.860 4.059 15
19 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1.30.510 4.709 43
20 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1.30.695 4.894 17
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1.32.117 6.316 9
22 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 2
23 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1
24 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 0

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

%d bloggers like this: